Return to list

Update on Standardization

A standard establishes a set of specifications that describe an object or operating procedure. This results in a principle, which may be adopted as a regulation or technical benchmark. A standard is not mandatory, its compliance is a voluntary act. Some are made obligatory through a statutory text or legislative decree.


A Standard becomes obligatory:

• When the CE marking is affixed.

  Example: For Pivots and Linear Move machines when the Company signs a certificate of compliance indicating that it has adopted the standards: ISO 12374; EN 12325/1; EN1235/2; EN 12325/3

• For low voltage electrical installations. Standards C14-100 and C15-100.

• The NV 65 Eurocode 1 partie 1-4 relating to the snow and wind load codes for the installation zones (applicable to PIVOTS).

• The safety standard EN 909/IN 1 applied on the basis of Machinery Directive 2006/42/CE (2010) relating to tractors and agricultural machinery, of which irrigation equipment forms a part. It specifies that, from the control position, the operator must be able to ensure that there is no-one in the danger zone.

• The standard ISO 11545: 2009 was prepared by Technical Committee ISO/TC 23, Subcommittee SC18 Determination of the uniformity of water distribution for pivots and lateral move machines, where the water application device is more than 1.5 m above the ground.

• Waste waters REUSE, REUT


The European Commission has proposed a regulation for stimulating and facilitating the Reuse of Wastewater for agricultural irrigation (28th May 2018). This proposal adopted by the EU Council on 27 June is now to be the subject of a joint text between the European Parliament, the Council and the European Commission.



Each country of the European Union has a Standardization Body.

As well as countries affiliated to the CEN

They are responsible for the standardization process in each country and coordinating with the CEN (European Committee for Standardisation) or CENELEC (Euro­pean Committee for Electr­otechnical Standar­dization), and at international level with the ISO (International Organization for Standardization).

Each county is obliged to give all CEN and ISO standards the status of national standards.